Student Successes: Spring 2020

Sercan Canbolat, a POLS PhD Candidate, received the ISA-Midwest Region’s 2020 Margaret G. Hermann Award for a paper entitled “Understanding Extreme Islamists in Their Native Language.” The award is conferred on the paper that makes the best use of text analysis in leadership studies. Upon invitation from the editors of Routledge’s foreign policy analysis (FPA) series, that same paper has been accepted for publication in Summer 2020 as a book chapter in a forthcoming volume titled Beyond Beliefs: Operational Code Analysis & the Psychological Origins of Foreign Policy Analysis (edited by Professors Stephen G. Walker and Mark Schafer).

Amber Smith, a first-generation student, undergraduate major in Political Science, and member of the fifth-year Master’s Program was part of the inaugural class of Hartford Promise Scholars.  She was interviewed about her experience at UConn in UConn Today.  Read the interview here.

Laurane Fumex, a current Political Science major, learned that her paper entitled “Totalitarian Regimes in Latin America”, earned an Honorable Mention for the Aetna Writing in the Disciplines Awards in the Humanities division.

We have made our graduating honors students’ thesis research presentations available to you virtually, so this year’s Research Excellence in Political Science (REPS) will take place online.  Please click on the following link to view their research posters:

This year’s recipients of the Elizabeth Hanson Internship Scholarship include: Shankara Narayanan (CLAS, History and POLS), Sheroz Din (CLAS, POLS), and Daniella Angulo (CLAS, Human Rights and English).  Dr. Betty Hanson, Professor Emerita of Political Science, continues to run the scholarship program to support students who take part in summer internships. 

Michael Hernandez is UConn’s most recent Newman Civic Fellows Award recipient. Michael is a sophomore at UConn Stamford and was recognized for his outstanding leadership and investment in his community. Michael is the 5th UConn student to receive this award.