Undergraduate Awards

Spring 2020 applications are now closed.

We offer the following awards and scholarships:

  • Augusta H. Gerberich Scholarship: Given annually to a junior or senior majoring in political science whose special field of interest is international relations. Preference is given to female students. The award is based on high levels of scholastic aptitude and scholastic success, demonstration of financial need, and promise of leadership.
  • Fund for Legal Studies Fellowship: Given annually to two undergraduate students, with preference to seniors, in recognition of scholarly achievement and who intend to pursue degrees in political science, with priority given to students who plan to enter law school after graduation.
  • I. Ridgway Davis Pre-Law Scholarship: Given annually to an undergraduate with an outstanding academic record who has been accepted for entry to law school. (Proof of law school acceptance must be provided by 4/15/16. Funds will be awarded once proof of acceptance is received.)
  • Irving Smirnoff Award: Given annually to undergraduate juniors and/or seniors to provide financial support.
  • Jaime B. Cheshire ’99 Endowed Internship Award: To provide financial support for an undergraduate enrolled in the University’s Department of Political Science within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
  • John G. Hill, Jr. and John G. Hill, III/Political Science Excellence Award: Given to upper division students, usually seniors, who have achieved outstanding academic records, or who otherwise merit special recognition.
  • Reiter Senior Award for Graduate Study in Political Science: Given annually to the undergraduate senior who plans to study Political Science at the graduate level.
  • Roy H and Hilda M. Merolli Scholarship in Political Science: To provide scholarship support for continuing undergraduate students enrolled full-time with demonstrated academic achievement and financial need who are Political Science majors in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
  • Fannie Dixon Welch Scholarship: Given annually to a junior or senior female political science major with a special interest in international relations and public policy who is a Democrat, registered in Connecticut. This scholarship is awarded separately by the Connecticut Federation of Democratic Women. The recipient of this award will be contacted directly by the CFDW (not UConn).
  • Elizabeth C. Hanson Scholarship: The Elizabeth C. Hanson Scholarship provides up to $1,500 to support students who are pursuing an internship in an international setting or in an organization deeply engaged in international matters. Undergraduates interested in international relations, international political economy, critical global issues, and international culture and institutions are eligible to apply. More information about the scholarship, including details of how to apply, may be found here, http://iisp.uconn.edu/hanson-scholarship/, or from the office of the Individualized & Interdisciplinary Studies Program, CUE 322, Email iisp@uconn.edu, Website: http://www.iisp.uconn.edu.

Click here to see our awardees over the last decade!