The UConn Department of Political Science studies how the political process shapes the choices we face as a community.

We offer academic programs that bridge the humanities and social sciences. Our cutting-edge research reflects our commitment to methodological and intellectual openness and diversity. Our community provides a bedrock for academic exploration and intellectual engagement at the University.


Learn more about our department

Quick Links

Students in a large lecture hall laugh at a joke


Students can pursue a major, minor, or fast-track master's in political science.

View Programs

Students in a small graduate seminiar


Our department offers Ph.D., master's degree, and graduate certificate options.
View Programs

A professor lectures at the front of a class.


Our researchers expand boundaries and bring their knowledge to the classroom.
View Research

The UConn sign on a sunny fall day.


Find contact information for our Department's administrators and staff members.
View Directory


  • Student Successes: Late Spring 2023
    Hadia Ahmad (POLS ’23 – Honors) presented her research at the annual Frontiers Exhibition in Stamford. Her paper was titled “Fight or Flight: Examining the Struggles on Nonwhites in Academia”.  Gianella Anyosa’s (POLS ‘23 and BOLD Scholar) documentary, Migrar o Morir, was screened in the Puerto Rican Latin American Cultural Center Community Room this past March.  […]
    Posted on May 1, 2023
  • Faculty Achievements: Late Spring 2023
    Elva Orozco Mendoza’s review article, “Maternal Activism in Comparative Perspective: Past, Present, and Future” was published in Sociology Compass and her book chapter, “Dissident Memories: Feminicide, Memorialisation, and the Fight Against State Cruelty,” is forthcoming in a book that will be published by Routledge this year.  Shareen Hertel has been selected to be the inaugural […]
    Posted on May 1, 2023
  • Student Successes: Early Spring 2023
    Yejie Kim and Jessica Cross along with IIREP MA student Gregory Franklin, Jr. had papers accepted to the NEPSA 2023 conference in April Bianka Adamatti was awarded the 2023 Master’s Thesis Award from the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools (CSGS). The award is given each year in four different disciplinary categories on a rotating basis. […]
    Posted on February 22, 2023

Upcoming Events

  1. Oct 4 The Sustainable Clean Energy Summit: Decarbonizing Society and the Grid 9:00am
  2. Oct 4 Clean Energy Engagement Fair 3:00pm
  3. Oct 5 Journalism Under the Taliban: Understanding the Lived Experience of Journalists in Afghanistan 2:00pm
  4. Oct 19 Coffee Hours 2:00pm
  5. Oct 20 Annual Parcells Lecture: Dale Jamieson (NYU) 4:00pm
All Events »

Follow us on Instagram!


Join the directors of the POLS graduate programs to learn more about their offerings, admission, timelines, and more! This event will take place in various locations throughout the POLS office area, on the 4th floor of Oak. This event is open to everybody, we hope to see you there!

Join POLS Faculty and majors in an open conversation about current topics-- with a side of pizza! This event will be conversation-based, meaning that there is no set agenda for this event. Come join us in Oak 408 this Wednesday, from 3:45-4:45 pm. Can't make it? No problem! This is the first ...of many series hosted by the Department.

2023 is likely to be the hottest year globally on record. But looking back decades from now, it may be considered mild, as temperatures continue to climb from the effects of climate change. Unless we do more to stop it - and the time is now. Join UConn & Eversource at the Student Union this ...Wednesday, October 4th for a Clean Energy Summit! Please visit the link in our bio to register.

Last Sunday, UConn Students took to the streets of New York to advocate for climate justice. We are so proud of all of our students advocating for a brighter future for us all!

Interested in learning more about the Connecticut General Assembly's internship program? We will be hosting an info session this Wednesday, September 17th at 12:15pm in Oak 438. Come chat with Angie Waszkiewicz, CGA Intern Program Director, and meet former interns. We hope to see you there!

Are you a POLS Major interested in going abroad? Join us next Wednesday, September 27th, in Oak 408 from 2-3pm for an info session with Jess Hoffmann, POLS Academic Advisor, and EGL Advisor Valerie Jenkelunas. Drop by for a little while, we hope to see you there!!

Ever wondered about the elections process and what goes on behind the scenes? Election Registrars from the Town of Mansfield are looking for Election Day volunteers! This event will take place this Thursday, September 21st at 9:30am in Oak 112. We hope to see you there!

Calling all First Generation POLS students! Please join us for our First-Gen Political Science Student Welcome Reception. The event will take place in Oak 408 on September 12th, from 4-5 pm. Come meet POLS faculty, staff, and other students as well as learn about the various opportunities our ...department offers. We look forward to seeing you there!

Ryan's back with another tip this week to help you get back into the swing of things this school year! Having a calendar to manage all of your classes and assignments is a great way to stay on track!