Student Successes: Spring 2021

Several POLS majors were awarded Cohen Student Leadership Awards for eliminating discrimination and building a more inclusive community at UConn, including Brittany Diaz, Brendan Hogan, Mason Holland, Jase Ramon Olavarria, and Sage Phillips.

Sercan Canbolat, a Ph.D. student, was selected to receive the University’s Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award from the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

POLS majors Laura Bedoya and Damani Douglas testified on March 4, 2021, at a state legislative hearing on the Governor’s Proposed Budget for Higher Education Agencies. 

Carol Gray, a Ph.D. student, was appointed as a Dissertation Fellow at the University of Connecticut Humanities Institute for the 2021-22 academic year. The project she is working on is entitled “Law as Politics by Other Means: An Egyptian Case Study as a Template for Human Rights Reform.”

Two POLS majors won the Donald L. McCullough Leadership Award: Brittany Diaz and Michael Christy.