2022 Political Science Undergraduate and Graduate Awardees

Congratulations to all of our awardees!

Augusta Gerberich Scholarship

Given annually to a junior or senior majoring in political science whose special field of interest is international relations. Preference is given to female students. The award is based on high levels of scholastic aptitude and scholastic success and promise of leadership.

Bridget Abril

Leslie Alvarez

Jules Ciecko

Shelby Houghton

Lindsay Dickinson

Aiman Hameed

Solaiman Chowdhury

Elannah Devin

Meet our awardees

Bridget Abril​

Lindsay Dickinson​​

Aiman Hameed​​​

Jamie B. Cheshire Internship Award

To provide financial support for an undergraduate enrolled in the University's Department of Political Science within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Noah Frank

Claire Lee

Bryanna Mckreith

Fund for Legal Studies Fellowship

Given annually to two undergraduate students, with preference to seniors, in recognition of scholarly achievement and who intend to pursue degrees in political science, with priority given to students who plan to enter law school after graduation.

Sofia Dinatale

Sam Dorman

Reiter Senior Award for Graduate Study

Given annually to the undergraduate senior who plans to study Political Science at the graduate level

Melanie Sanclemente

Meet our awardee

Melanie Sanclemente​

Ridgway Davis Pre-Law Scholarship

Given annually to an undergraduate with an outstanding academic record who has been accepted for entry to law school.

Lisette Donewald

Julia Vassallo

Meet our awardees

Lisette Donewald​

Julia Vassallo​​

Irving Smirnoff Award

Given annually to undergraduate juniors and/or seniors to provide financial support.

Dylan Champagne

Michael Hernandez

Mohammed Hussain

Meet our awardees

Mohammed Hussain​

Roy H. and Hilda M. Merolli Scholarship

To provide scholarship support for continuing undergraduate students enrolled full-time with demonstrated academic achievement who are Political Science majors in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Jola Bufi

Hannah Ravenell

Bennett Honors Thesis Writing Prize​

Named for alumnus Alan R. Bennett, Class of 1969, this award is given annually to the Political Science honors student who wrote the best Honors thesis. ​

Lisette Donewald

Bennett Honors ​Scholarship in Political Science

Named for alumnus Alan R. Bennett, Class of 1969, recipients of this scholarship must be full-time enrolled POLS Honors Students, a sophomore or junior in the POLS Honors program during their year as a scholarship recipient, and be making satisfactory progress toward their degree​ ​

Ariana Bahavar

Mario Boozang

Sophia Esposito

Michelle Eweka

Carmen Rojas

Lauren Tocman

Meet our awardees

Michelle Eweka​

Lauren Tocman​

Bennett Research Assistants

Named for alumnus Alan R. Bennett (Class of 1969) students newly admitted to the Political Science Honors Program are awarded a Research Assistantship in the fall semester to assist Political Science Faculty with their research.​​

Lauren Baskin

Anabelle S. Bergstrom​

Spencer Brooke Bigda​

Jola Bufi​

Jacob Daignault​

Madeline Doyle​

Sophia Esposito​

Meghan Jezik​

Karen Lau​

Ainsley Lougal​

Autumn Michelle​​

Adam Opin​

Angelica Peralta ​

Alexis Staten ​

Avi Uihlein​

Undergraduate Political Review Board Members

The UPR publishes articles written, edited, and reviewed by undergraduates who have exhibited a commitment to academic excellence and political involvement. ​

Jola Bufi

Kempton Campbell (editor)

Sofia DiNatale​

Michaela Flaherty ​

Mohammed Hussain​

Hallie LeTendre​

Elizabeth C. Hanson Scholarship​

The Elizabeth C. Hanson Scholarship provides support to students who are pursuing an internship in an international setting or in an organization deeply engaged in international matters. ​

Cecelia Klotzer

Meet our awardee

Cecelia Klotzer​

Holster Scholarship

The Holster Scholars program is a highly selective enrichment opportunity for curious first-year Honors students who wish to complete an independent project in the summer following their freshman year.​​

Anabelle Bergstrom

Karen Lau  ​

Fulbright Scholarship

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Students must be nominated by the University’s Office of National Scholarships & Fellowships to apply.

Drew Tienken (Taiwan)

Governor Abraham Ribicoff Fellowship

Given annually to a graduate student in political science, with preference for a student who specializes in the study of American politics and is a current resident of Connecticut.​​​

Ben Stumpf

Howard L. Reiter Memorial Award for Political Science Graduate Education

To support the University by providing fellowship support for graduate students enrolled full-time in the Department of Political Science in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, who have demonstrated academic achievement.​​​​​​

Dave Berghel​

Spencer Hayes​

Chloe Kwak​

Cory Runstedler​

Justin Theodra​

Meet our awardees

Spencer Hayes​

J. Garry Clifford Graduate Fellowship Fund​

To assist in the recruitment and retention of excellent graduate students and offer a recurrent source of graduate student support.​​​​​​​​

Altan Atamer​

Yinghao Deng​

San Lee​

Lily Luo​

Dabney Waring​

POLS ​Teaching Assistant of the Year Award​

Given annually to a graduate student in political science who demonstrates excellence in teaching and who enhances the quality of the undergraduate curriculum.

Minju Lee