Faculty Achievements: Late Spring 2023

Click here to view Faculty Achievements for Fall 2023!

  • Elva Orozco Mendoza’s review article, “Maternal Activism in Comparative Perspective: Past, Present, and Future” was published in Sociology Compass and her book chapter, “Dissident Memories: Feminicide, Memorialisation, and the Fight Against State Cruelty,” is forthcoming in a book that will be published by Routledge this year. 
  • Shareen Hertel has been selected to be the inaugural Wiktor Osiatyński Chair in Human Rights for being an internationally recognized researcher, scholar, and teacher and having made significant contributions to human rights research and practice. Provost D’Alleva and Vice President Daniel Weiner made their recommendation based on consideration of a report by a review committee and in consultation with the director of the Gladstein Family Human Rights Institute. 
  • Talbot Andrew’s article Risk from Response to a Changing Climate was just published in Climate Risk Management. In the article, she and her coauthors discuss how the different strategies available to us to mitigate climate change can also generate downstream hazards. 
  • Jane Gordon has been elected as an Honorary Member of The Phi Beta Kappa Society and was invited to be speaker at the induction ceremony.  
  • Beth Ginsberg (with Professor Sarah Perez from University of Texas Rio Grande Valley) presented their work at the Southern Political Science Association conference in January 2023. Their paper was titled: “Central and South American Voter Trends: Influences on Turnout in the US Presidential Elections.” They presented another work titled “Subgroups Matter: Influences on Turnout of Latino Ethnic Subgroups” at the Midwest Political Science Association conference in April 2023.  
  • Beth Ginsberg spoke at the Faculty Colloquium on the Stamford Campus. The title of her talk was: “We’re Not All Mexicans: Diversity in Latino Voting.” 
  • Oksan Bayulgen was a finalist for the Environmental Leadership Faculty Award. ELAs are a means of recognizing individuals or groups who have worked alone or as part of organizations to support sustainability efforts at UConn and beyond. Nominees were evaluated by a committee appointed by the Office of Sustainability and Institute of the Environment. 
  • Christine Sylvester received an acceptance of a book chapter: “Memorializing the Enemy Three Ways: Australia, Japan, USA,” for “Enemy Encounters in Modern Warfare” edited by Holly Furneaux and Matilda Greig (Palgrave Macmillan). 
  • Matthew Singer was awarded the Edgardo Catterberg Prize for best paper presented at the World Association for Political Science Research-Latin America (WAPOR-Latin America). The paper, coauthored with Nina Wiesehomeier (IE University) and Saskia Ruth-Lovell (Radboud University), is titled “Who Votes for Populists in Latin America? It Depends Upon if the Populist is the President.” 
  • Yonatan Morse recently had an article accepted at Public Opinion Quarterly (with Natalie Letsa) titled “Autocratic Legalism, Partisanship, and Popular Legitimation in Authoritarian Cameroon.” 
  • Jeremy Pressman will be working with two SHARE students, Foluke Akinkunmi and Bridget Quiroga, this summer on cataloging the possible consequences in the theater industry of the 2020 anti-racism protests and counter protests.  
  • Virginia Hettinger and Nicole Blanchard presented their paper “Race, Gender, and the Institutional Norm of Consensus on the U.S. Court of Appeals: Does Racial or Gender Diversity Have a Larger Impact on Circuit Dissent Rates?” at the Annual Meeting of the New England Political Science Association in Mystic, CT. 
  • Rob Venator will be testifying at a plenary panel of the Puerto Rico Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, which has been undertaking a study on The Insular Cases and the Doctrine of the Unincorporated Territory and its Effect on the Civil Rights of the Residents of Puerto Rico.  
Posted by Ahumada, Kellyjohana (POLs Student Admin) in Uncategorized