Author: CK

Faculty Achievements: Late Fall 2022

Christine Sylvester spoke on “Memorialized War Women in the USA, Vietnam, and the UK” at a program on Gender, Sexuality, Memorialisation held at York University on September 13, 2022. On October 24 she spoke on “The Present Re-dux, Re-IR’d, and Maybe Re-curating”, at Central European University in Vienna. Finally, Dr. Sylvester spoke on “Who Owns […]

Student Successes: Late Fall 2022

This past summer, doctoral candidate Mohammad “Aynal” Haque participated in a three-day Duck Family Graduate Workshop at the Center for Environmental Politics at the University of Washington. He presented one of his dissertation chapters entitled “Mitigating Climate Change: Cross-Country Variation in Policy Ambition.” Doctoral candidate Imge Akaslan and her advisor, Shareen Hertel, co-authored a paper […]

Alumni Notes: Late Fall 2022

Pierre-Alexandre Aguirre (CLAS ‘19) is currently a Master’s Student at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) in Washington D.C. He is a member of the Public Service Fellows Program at SAIS, which seeks to “develop the next generation of public servants dedicated to making a positive impact on their communities and the world […]

Political Science Professor named CLAS Accessibility Fellow

Professor Kimberly Bergendahl was recently named an inaugural CLAS Accessibility Fellow. She will receive funding for research, professional development, or a course release and will work on projects related to accessibility issues around campus for the CLAS Dean’s Office.   More About CLAS Accessibility Fellows CLAS is introducing a program to allow its faculty and staff to develop […]

Student Successes: Early Fall 2022

POLS Major Drew Tienken ‘22 (CLAS), a recent graduate of UConn, was one of five UConn students selected as recipients of a grant through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program for the 2022-23 academic year. A native of Wilton (CT), Drew will take his interest in environmentalism and sustainable development to his role as an English […]

Faculty Achievements: Early Fall 2022

Professor Evan Perkoski’s New Book Examines how Armed Groups Break Apart and Splinter. Kim Bergendahl was named to  the inaugural cohort of CLAS Accessibility Fellows and will work on projects related to accessibility issues around campus for the CLAS Dean’s Office. Thomas Hayes’ co-authored paper entitled “Elite Mobilization: A Theory Explaining Opposition to Gay Rights” […]

Alumni Notes: Early Fall 2022

Professor Christopher E. Smith ’88 Ph.D. was honored by MSU’s School of Criminal Justice. Former POLS Honors Students Maye Henning ‘17 (CLAS) and John Dearborn ‘13 (CLAS) star at the Toronto Political Development Workshop held in January. John Dearborn ‘13 (CLAS) has won the APSA’s 2022 Richard Neustadt Award for the best book published that […]

Student Successes: Spring 2022

Doctoral Candidate Volodymyr Gupan was cited in a Hartford Courant article entitled “Ukraine War Concerns UConn, ECSU academics.” Volodymyr comes from Ukraine and has family still there. Currently, he is teaching about the country in a class at UConn’s Hartford campus. POLS Major Damani Douglas ‘23 (CLAS) has been elected as the new Student member […]